On this blog, Sue and I have many times written about the school board incumbents and the votes that they have made, how they acted in-sync with our Broad-trained superintendent, how they mindlessly stamped all of her policies and how incumbents Carr, Martin-Morris and Sundquist are backed financially by Stand for Children. For that reason, I will not repeat what has already been stated by us.

What I will do is provide this reminder.

Vote for Michelle Buetow for School Board Director.

I have worked with Michelle over the last two years as part of the Alternative Schools Coalition. She understands what our students need and has had her ear to the ground on all things education. I would trust her to make informed and fair decisions as a school board director.

Kate Martin has my vote for School Board Director.

She and I have sat in many a school board meeting where I have watched her speak up on important issues that face our students in Seattle. I have had the pleasure to get to know her and would trust her to make decisions that are fair and informed.

Vote for Marty McLaren for School Board Director.

Marty McLaren is a person who I have also gotten to know while sitting in school board meetings. She is articulate and has spoken up on the issues. We have always seen eye to eye and I would trust her to use her judgement to make fair and informed decisions.

Sharon Peaslee also has our vote. As Sue stated in an earlier post:

“After too many years of mismanagement, churn and scandal, clearly it’s time for new leadership and better judgment in Seattle’s Public Schools. We need engaged  school board members who will respond to the community and manage our limited resources responsibly. Sharon Peaslee brings an intelligent and clear commitment to getting our district back on track. Sharon Peaslee has my confidence and my vote.”

So now, if you haven’t already, find that envelop, mark your ballots and get them in ASAP! Now I just have to find mine…

Dora

Post Script

There will be a celebration tonight with all four challengers at Rosita’s Cantina, 7210 Woodlawn Avenue, NW, near Greenlake from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM.